The magazine for the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at
Iowa State University

Alumni awards

Each year, the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences and Iowa State University honor alumni who have enhanced their communities, impacted the world and significantly contributed to their professions. Award recipients were honored during the LAS Honors and Awards Ceremony on Oct. 24, 2019. Meet the award winners below:

Iowa State University Alumni Association Awards

Jessica Kinser (’05 political science and English, M.P.A. ’07) - ISUAA Outstanding Young Alumni Award

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Awards

Dennis A. Babcock (’70 speech communication) - Dean’s Arts and Humanities Award
Vanessa Baker-Latimer (M.P.A. ’89) - Carrie Chapman Catt Public Engagement Award
Dianne Bystrom - LAS Distinguished Service Award
Yoon-Shik Lee M.A. (’82 political science) - LAS Citation of Merit
Gordon M. Shepherd (’55 zoology) - John V. Atanasoff Discovery Award

LAS Departmental Awards

Gagan Chopra (’91 computer science, M.S. ’93) - Computer Science Distinguished Alumni Award
Jerome Fast (’85 meteorology and mathematics, M.S. - ’87 earth science, Ph.D. ’90 meteorology)
Geological and Atmospheric Sciences Distinguished Alumni Award
Eleanor Kahn (’08 architecture and performing arts) - Theatre Distinguished Alumni Award
Adam McDonald (’05 music) - Music Distinguished Alumni Award
Kim Guthrie (’84 journalism and mass communication) - James W. Schwartz Award for Distinguished Service to Journalism and Communication
William B. Johnson (Ph.D. ’69 mathematics) - Mathematics Distinguished Alumni Award
Michael Krull (M.A. ’00 political science) - Political Science Alumni Achievement Award
Laura E. Ortiz (’91 Spanish) - World Languages and Cultures Distinguished Alumni Award
Jeffry D. Sander (’04 computer science, Ph.D. ’08 bioinformatics and computational biology) - Genetics, Development, and Cell Biology Distinguished Alumni Award
Troy M. Schulte (’92 history, ’94 economics) - Economics and History Outstanding Alumni Award
Sue-Lein Wang (Ph.D. ’85 physical chemistry) - Chemistry Outstanding Alumni Award

To view photos from the LAS Honors and Awards Ceremony, please visit this link:

Nominations invited for 2020 LAS Alumni Awards

The LAS Honors and Awards Program was established to honor the outstanding achievements of alumni and friends of the college. The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences invites nominations for the 2020 LAS Alumni Awards. The nomination deadline is March 15, 2020.

Visit for award descriptions and nomination instructions.

If you have questions, please contact: Robyn Goldy, Alumni relations coordinator College of Liberal Arts and Sciences 515-294-7487