The magazine for the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at
Iowa State University

Alumni honors

Each year, the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, along with Iowa State University, honors alumni and friends who have made a difference in their community, an impact on the world, and a difference in their professions. Award recipients were honored during the LAS Honors and Awards Ceremony on October 25, 2018. Meet the 2018 award winners below.

Iowa State University Alumni Association Awards

Lee Ann De Reus (political science ’86) - ISUAA 2018 Alumni Merit Award
Iowa State University Cyclone Football “Varsity” Marching Band - ISUAA 2018 Impact Award 
Shane Jacobson (communication studies ’03, M.S. education ’08) - ISUAA Outstanding Young Alumni Award 
Dave Kurns (journalism and mass communication ’82) - ISUAA Alumni Service Award
Deb Tharnish (English ’77) - ISUAA 2018 Alumni Medal

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Awards

Sharon Haselhoff (political science ’98) - Carrie Chapman Catt Public Engagement Award
Maryl Johnson (zoology ‘73) - LAS Citation of Merit
Henry Ong (M.S. agricultural journalism and mass communication ’78) - LAS Dean’s Arts and Humanities Award (Awarded posthumously)
Arthur Slusark - LAS Distinguished Service Award
Dan Winters (journalism and mass communications ’03) - LAS Young Alumni Award
Adam Clark (meteorology ’03, M.S. meteorology ’06, Ph.D. meteorology ’09) also received his 2017 LAS Young Alumni Award on Oct. 26.

LAS Departmental Awards

Kira H. Barclay (mathematics ’03, M.S. statistics ’05) - Mathematics Young Alumni Award
Andie Dominick (English ’94, M.A. English ’97) - English Distinguished Alumni Award
Ty Henderson (finance and international studies ’97, Spanish ‘98) - World Languages and Cultures Distinguished Alumni Award
Charlie Hunt (computer science ’92) - Computer Science Distinguished Alumni Award
Joseph McPhail (economics and agricultural business ’06) - Economics Outstanding Young Alumni Award
Charity Nebbe (political science ’96) - Political Science Alumni Achievement Award
Sean R. Stanek (computer science ’02, M.S. computer science ’07, Ph.D. computer science ‘12) - Computer Science Young Alumni Award
William F. (Bill) Tubbs (agricultural journalism ’71) - James W. Schwartz Award for Distinguished Service to Journalism and Communication

Browse an online gallery of photos from the celebration.

Nominations invited for LAS Alumni Awards

The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences invites nominations for the 2019 LAS Alumni Awards. The nomination deadline is March 19, 2019.