The magazine for the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at
Iowa State University

LAS updates

Dean Schmittmann, two LAS professors named AAAS Fellows
The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) recognized LAS dean Beate Schmittmann and LAS professors Howard Levine and Reuben Peters for their distinguished work in physics, mathematics, and biochemistry.

Gutowski promoted to College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Associate Dean
Dean Beate Schmittmann appointed Dr. William J. Gutowski, Jr. associate dean for research and graduate studies. As associate dean, Gutowski will promote research and scholarship in the college for all of the academically diverse fields in LAS.

Dr. Steffen Schmidt selected as William J. Clinton Distinguished Lecturer
The University of Arkansas Clinton School of Public Service selected Dr. Steffen Schmidt, University Professor in Iowa State’s political science department, to speak as a William J. Clinton Distinguished Lecturer in their upcoming focus on the Iowa Caucus.

Phillips named APS Rising Star
Associate professor Alison Phillips was selected as a Rising Star in the Association for Psychological Science (APS). The honor is awarded to “the best and the brightest of psychological science,” according to Sarah Brookhart, executive director for APS.

Tye-Williams wins Academic Minute Listener’s Choice Award
Listeners nationwide voted Dr. Stacy Tye-Williams’ broadcast as the top story of the year. Tye-Williams, an assistant professor of communication studies and English, was featured in “The Academic Minute,” a radio program hosted by Mount Holyoke College.

ISU student cyber analysts win national competition
A cross disciplinary team of students, including an LAS student, won $25,000 in a national competition of cyberattack analysis and response. A panel of industry experts chose the ISU team based on their analysis and presentation.